top of page

Learning and Development

At Rowlands Gill Under Fives our open-ended stimulating environment is set up to encourage and challenge your children’s natural curiosity, we build upon what they know to further their learning. Our settling in process and strong key worker relationships ensure our children feel happy, safe and secure and quickly trust and feel confident with our staff and routines. We place a strong focus on the prime areas of the EYFS especially our children’s personal social and emotional wellbeing. This ensures children feel happy and confident to play and explore their surroundings and resources. By regularly observing the children we are able to follow and build on their individual learning and meet their needs.


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS Statutory Guidance, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

As well as being the core document for professionals working in the foundation years, it gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

The Birth To Five Matters framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.


Children are developing all the time and their learning reflects this. The EYFS uses the term Learning and Development to describe seven areas of learning. These are all related to each other; however, they are divided into Prime and Specific Areas.

Prime areas
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

Specific areas
  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

Together with the 7 areas of learning the EYFS also looks at how the child engages with other people and the environment; these are called the Characteristics of Effective Learning;


  • Playing and exploring: children investigate and experience things and ‘have a go’;

  • Active learning: children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements;

  • Creating and thinking critically: children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.


These Characteristics underpin the learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.


EYFS For Parents​

We know the vital role that you as parents have in supporting your children’s learning and development. These excellent guides give you an overview of the EYFS framework and vital information about what to expect throughout the months and years of your child’s journey from birth to 5 years.


A Parent’s Guide to the EYFS


What to expect when?



bottom of page